Baby Toes and Fingers…

I love anything that is a miniature version of itself – this goes for baby toes and fingers.  I’m just amazed that these tiny little appendages eventually grow into the full size version.  They start off looking so cute and fragile, and all I want to do is just squeeze them off – don’t worry, I won’t.  Just an urge I get.  I had the great opportunity about a month ago to photograph a very close friend’s new baby, Baby H.  He was about 2 months old at the time, and it was quite a learning lesson for me!

I have no kids and have refused to hold any baby that couldn’t support its own head up until now.  I do not need to be responsible for breaking someone’s baby.  But my friend posed a challenge, and when Baby H was only two days old, she thrust him into my arms – I guess not a challenge to hold him as much as forceful cuddling with her baby.  But I’m glad she did, as I now know that I can hold a newborn without breaking it!  And after that photo shoot, I must say that I’m very comfortable with moving a baby around, as we were constantly shifting things around to get the shots she had envisioned.

This is the first time I’ve done a baby shoot, and man are they hard!  Props to all those who make these photos look amazing; it’s incredibly difficult when your first learning.  But we had a great time doing it, and we enjoyed a wonderful evening afterwards with our friends, just relaxing and enjoying each other’s company.

I haven’t seen my friends since then, and we are getting together this weekend so that I can give them the photos.  They’ve gotten a sneak peak at a couple, and I’m hoping that they love them all.  Here are a few of my toes and fingers photos; I hope you find these little appendages just as adorable as I do!

Leave a Reply

