Spring in the new House

Since we moved in August of last year, I missed all the wonder that comes with spring.  You know – seeing the first flowers to bloom, the birds finding material to make their nests, everything something fresh again.  I love getting out there every year, and seeing what is popping up.  I had these beautiful tulips I planted in the front of the old house, and looked forward to seeing them every spring:

little-tulip

parrot-tulip

So, needless to say I was very excited at going outside every day since the first day of spring at our new place, just to see what would be showing up for me to enjoy.  I’d step out my front door, look at my neighbours with their daffodils, tulips, grape hyacinth, and crocuses, and quickly run around the bushes that frame our walkway, joyfully gazing upon… dirt! What the heck?! There are no flowers of any kind!  I have two leaves from two tulip plants, so I’m still keeping fingers crossed that I’ll have at least two tulips.  But who doesn’t plant spring flowers?! Explains the large expanse of grass – no, field – in our backyard, and nothing else there either.  The positive out of my disappointing spring? I get to plant bulbs this fall, and look forward to an awesome spring next year!

I got around last night to cleaning the evergreen branches out of the planters, which was my winter decor (should’ve taken photos first, duh!).  In the process, I came across a little snail, so of course I took advantage of the little light I had left, and ran to get my camera.  Here are merely a couple of the ones I took (I think I ended up with close to 200, the downside to burst mode on the camera – a dozen of the exact same photo), along with a photo of the neighbours crocuses.  At least I got to revel in a little bit of spring!

Leave a Reply

